toggle menu
Live: mix94.5 Perth
Listen live

Sydney FC Are The 2018/19 A-League Champions

Won on penalties

Sydney FC Are The 2018/19 A-League Champions Image: AAP

Sydney FC are the 2018/19 champions after winning a dramatic penalty shootout against Perth Glory at Optus Stadium in front of over 56,371 fans.


The game finished 0-0 in normal time, and the two teams still couldn’t be separated after 30 minutes of extra time.

The game was a cagey affair low on quality chances — Sydney had no shots on target for the entire match — and was played in a good atmosphere in front of a record A-League crowd.

Sydney looked to have opened the scoring midway through the first half when an Adam Le Fondre cross went in off Matthew Spiranovic, but it was ruled out for offside.

Fox Sports cameras appeared to show that the call was incorrect, but the video assistant referee bafflingly did not overturn the call.



Sydney goalkeeper Andrew Redmayne became the hero in the shootout, saving penalties from Andy Keogh and Brendon Santalab.

Sydney play maker Milos Ninkovic was awarded the Joe Marston Medal as the best player on the ground.