toggle menu
Live: mix94.5 Perth
Listen live

Smith, Warner And Bancroft Banned

Just in

Smith, Warner And Bancroft Banned

Steve Smith and Dave Warner have been banned from representing Australia for 12 months for their part in pre-meditated ball tampering.

Cricket Australia officials flew into South Africa and handed down the sanctions over the last two days.

Cameron Bancroft has been banned for nine months for his own involvement. 

Bancroft was caught on camera scuffing the ball with tape during the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town. 

Smith later admitted that he and Warner had knowledge of the plot.

Matt Renshaw, Joe Burns and Glenn Maxwell have been drafted into the squad as replacements for the banned trio ahead of Friday’s fourth Test in Johannesburg.