Posted: 14 November, 2016 by Footy Newsroom

Surprise Brownlow Winner When Essendon's 2012 Games Aren't Counted


(Image: Getty)

This morning on Triple M's The Hot Breakfast, a caller chimed in on the Jobe Watson Brownlow debate with a different perspective.

What if every Essendon game from 2012 was taken out of the Brownlow count?

It turns out it completely changes the leaderboard - albeit, a bit of a stitch up to a few players.

Here is how the top 7 looked on the Brownlow Medal night of 2012:

Jobe Watson - 30
Trent Cotchin - 26
Sam Mitchell - 26
Dane Swan - 25
Scott Thompson - 25
Gary Ablett - 24
Patrick Dangerfield - 23

Then, removing all 22 of Essendon's games from the votes...

2012 Brownlow Medal Count - Essendon Games Not Counted

Scott Thompson - 25
Sam Mitchell - 24
Trent Cotchin - 23
Gary Ablett - 21
Patrick Dangerfield - 21
Dane Swan - 19

Dane Swan (6 votes), Sam Mitchell (2), Trent Cotchin (3), Gary Ablett (2) and Patrick Dangerfield (2) all polled votes against the Bombers that year, leaving Adelaide midfielder Scott Thompson to climb to the top.

It is by no means a fair system, but rather an interesting perspective on the complicated situation.

The AFL Commision meet tomorrow to decide what will retrospectively happen to the medal.

To Read Next