Posted: 11 November, 2016 by Triple M Rock News

Cold Chisel Release EPIC Live Album From The Band's Pub Rock Days

Simply incredible.

Tags: Cold Chisel

We are stoked to hear that Cold Chisel has just released some incredible new material from the heyday.

It's a live album called Live Tapes Vol 3 – Live At The Manly Vale 1980 and captures the Aussie rock legends in all their ragged, pub rock glory.

The live concert was captured in the same week that the band’s ground-breaking third album East was released.

The set saw them road-testing 10 songs from the East album including first runs of songs like "Cheap Wine", "Choirgirl", "My Baby", "Rising Sun" and "Star Hotel" alongside an epic cover of the Bob Dylan classic, "Knockin' on Heaven's Door".

Indeed, it's an intimate snapshot of a band in full-flight, doing what they do best.

“If you are still in doubt as to who is king of the castle in the hard-nosed, uncompromising, no shit rock 'n' roll stakes, save your energies for the next time Cold Chisel Come to town ... Without question, they lead the league of their own” said legendary rock music critic Vince Lovegrove.


Disc 1
1. Standing On The Outside
2. Home And Broken Hearted
3. Juliet
4. Shakin' All Over
5. Choirgirl
6. Conversations
7. Never Before
8. My Turn To Cry
9. Best Kept Lies
10. Shipping Steel
11. My Baby

Disc 2
1. Rising Sun
2. Breakfast At Sweethearts
3. One Long Day
4. Cheap Wine
5. Khe Sanh
6. Star Hotel
7. Merry-Go-Round
8. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
9. Tomorrow
10. Goodbye (Astrid, Goodbye)

Buy The Album

The Live Tapes - Vol 3 - Live At The Manly Vale Hotel is out December 2 on Vinyl LP, CD, a very limited edition CD/DVD (featuring footage from the show) as well as download and streaming. Go to for more details

Tags: Cold Chisel

To Read Next